Recap: Maryland Invitational Tournament

11U - 14U Champions, MVPs and Notable Performers

February 21, 2012 3:44pm ET
Picture 2
The on-court action was intense from the first tip-off until the final championship game.

This weekend's Maryland Invitational Tournament, known across youth basketball as one of the most competitive events in the country, came to a close on Sunday.

Over 125 teams descended on the suburbs of "Little America" to test their mettle, playing a minimum of three games over a three-day period against the nation's finest teams. 

A single-elimination bracket round followed intense pool play, leaving one definitive champion in each age division. 

Two MVP Award winners were selected in each age division (11U-14U), with each winner taking home a trophy and invitation to the prestigious and highly selective Junior Five-Star Basketball Super Session.

[Dates, locations and other information on Junior Five-Star can be found HERE.]

So, which teams took home the coveted MIT championship crown? Which teams and players left their mark in Maryland? And who will be taking their games to San Diego for Junior-Five Star?

We've got you covered. Take the plunge below.   

Full Results 


Champions: D.C. Assault // Defeated P.R. Playmakers, 64-55, in final

Most Valuable Players:

  • Robert Aviles, Puerto Rico Playmakers
  • Joseph Hampton, D.C. Assault 

Notable Performers:

  • Edwin Ebube, Puerto Rico Playmakers
  • Mikey Dixon, Philly Aztecs


Champions: New Heights // Defeated Team Takeover, 55-54, in final

Most Valuable Players:

  • Andre Boykins, Team Takeover
  • Tyler Bourne, New Heights

Notable Performers: 

  • Dre Mitchell, Team Takeover
  • Chris Coleman, New Heights
  • Shimoore Stern, Broward Sharks
  • Douglas Cooper, D.C. Assault 


Champions: Team IZOD/Sports U. // Defeated MD Sports Scholars, 59-53, in final

Most Valuable Players: 

  • Markquis Nowell, Team IZOD/Sports U.
  • Brandon Madison, Maryland Sports Scholars

Notable Performer:

  • Jahbril Noel-Price, Riverside Church Hawks


Champions: Team Takeover // Defeated Metro Sixers, 56-40, in final

Most Valuable Players: 

  • Justin Moore, Metro Sixers
  • Lathe Kornegay, Team Takeover

Notable Performer:

  • Kollin Lewis, Maryland Flames